SICK LEAVE

Number 14.1

Effective Date: December 31, 2016

Supersedes: Personnel Policy 14.1, dated March 1, 1996

Applicable To: All classified and temporary employees within the Executive Branch
of the State of Vermont.

Issued By: Department of Human Resources

Approved By: Trey Martin, Secretary of Administration

PURPOSE AND POLICY STATEMENT

it is the policy of the State to help protect the income of classified and temporary
employees who cannot work due to iliness or injury or other reason as described below.

The purpose of this policy is to establish the State's policies and practices for when
certain employees need {o be absent from duty in the event of ililness or injury.

DEFINITIONS

Accrual Rate - the number of hours the employee shall accrue per complete payroll
period of service.

Sick Leave - paid authorized absence from duty due to employee's iliness, injury or
quarantine; for his or her medical or dental appointments which cannot reascnably be
made outside of working hours; or for death or iliness in the employee's immediate
family.

Immediate Family - parent, grandparent, spouse, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law,
grandchild, foster child, stepchild or ward who lives with the employee, and any other
family member for whom an employee is primarily responsible either to arrange for
health care or to provide care.

Workday - a regularly scheduled day of work which begins at the time the employee's
regular and normal work schedule begins and continues for twenty-four (24)
consecutive hours.

GENERAL GUIDELINES

The Sick Leave Article of the current Collective Bargaining Agreements between the
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State of Vermont and the Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc. (VSEA); and the
Vermont Trooper's Association (VTA), respectively, must be adhered fo when
administering sick leave for employees in these respective bargaining units. The
collective bargaining agreements supersede portions of this policy, and may impose
additional requirements and/or provide additional benefits.

Sick leave benefits may not be used by employees prior to being credited to their
accounts.

Time spent on a leave of absence without pay shall not be counted in determining the
rates of sick leave accrual.

CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEES

Accrual of Sick L.eave

Upon appointment to the classified service, employees are credited with a bank of forty-
eight (48) hours of sick leave that empioyees may use during the first six (6) months of
service, prorated accordingly for part-time employees.

At the end of the first full payroll period following completion of their first six (6) months
of service, and at the end of every pay period thereafter, employees shall be credited
with sick leave for that payroll period as follows:

YEARS OFACCRUAL  PER  PAY
0-5 years 13.69 hours
5-10 '4.62
10-20 15.54
>20 6.46

Permanent part-time classified employees earn sick leave on a pro-rated basis based
on their assigned number of regularly scheduled work hours.

There is no limit on the total amount of sick leave that employees may accumulate.

When classified employees separate from State service, the entire amount of unused
sick leave shall lapse.

Use of Sick Leave

The use of earned sick leave shall be authorized by an appointing authority (or
designee) for employees who are absent from work and unable to perform their duties
because of illness, injury, or quarantine for contagious disease. The use of such leave
shall also be authorized for employee medical and dental appointments that cannot
reasonably be made outside employees' normai work hours.
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Sick leave may also be authorized by an appointing authority to permit empioyees to be
absent from duty due to death or iliness in their immediate family. Such absences shall
be authorized for a specified period of time that should be sufficient to make funeral
arrangements and to attend to family matters, or in instance of family iliness, to arrange
for continued care of the ill family member. In exiremely unusual circumstances, the
appointing authority may authorize use of additional sick leave.

Employees who have an accumulated sick leave balance shall be authorized its use
although recovery and return to duty is impossible. At the request of the appointing
authority, the disability or iliness and inability to perform position requirements must be
periodicaily certified to by a licensed physician or osteopath (“physician’s certificate”).

if a female employee is unable to work because of pregnancy of any medical condition
related to pregnancy, she may use accumulated sick leave under the same conditions
which apply to other ililnesses and disabilities.

If an employee becomes ill during a scheduled vacation, to the extent that
hospitalization is required, the employee's absence from the date of hospitalization may
be charged to sick leave rather than annual leave. Employees who are on vacation and
become ill and are confined to their home for three (3) or more days pursuant fo a
physician's or osteopath’s order (as evidenced by a physician's certificate), may have
that time charged to sick leave.

The Federal Family Medical Leave Act, 28 US.C. §2601 etf. seq. and/or Vermont's
Parental and Family Leave Act, 21 V.5.A. §470 ef. seq. may provide additional usage
options, if applicable.

_Medical Documentation

An appointing authority may require an employee to: submit a physician's certificate or
other evidence to justify the approval of sick leave; or to furnish evidence of good health
and ability to perform work without risk to self, co- workers, or the public as a condition
of returning to work. Whenever a physician's certificate is required as a condition of sick
leave approval, the time period for such requirement shall not normally exceed six (6)
months and may be extended for up to an additional six (6) months.

The State may require an employee to be examined by a physician designated by the
employer, at State expense, for the purpose of determining the employee's fitness for
duty.

Notification
Unless physically unable to do so, employees shall notify their supervisor (or other

person designated by the appointing authority} of their inability to report to work and the
nature of the iliness, no later than one (1) hour prior to the beginning of the scheduled

SICK LEAVE - December 31, 2016 Page 3 of 6



workday.

Employees who misrepresent their claims for sick leave may be subject to disciplinary
action up to and including dismissal.

TEMPORARY EMPLOYEES

Accrual of Sick Leave

Effective with the Payroll Period beginning January 8, 2017, temporary employees will
accrue sick leave at the rate of .02 hours of sick leave per hour worked, up to a
maximum of twenty-four (24) hours in a twelve (12)-month period beginning the first day
worked (or 1/8/17 for those employed before that date.) After December 31, 2018, the
accrual cap will increase to forty (40) hours in a 12-month period. Accrued, unused sick
leave wili be available for use if the empioyee transfers 1o a different temporary position
within the twelve (12)-month period if there is no break in service, but will not be paid
out upon termination, or transferred if the employee is hired into a classified or exempt
position.

Use of Sick Leave
A temporary employee may use accrued sick leave when:

1. The employee is ill or injured.

2. The employee obtains professional diagnostic, preventive, routine, or therapeutic
health care.

3. The employee cares for a sick or injured parent, grandparent, spouse, child,
brother, sister, parent-in-law, grandchild, or foster child, including helping that
individual obtain diagnostic, preventive, routine, or therapeutic health treatment,
or accompanying the employee's parent, grandparent, spouse, or parent-in-law
to an appointment related to his or her long-term care.

4. The employee is arranging for social or legal services or obtaining medical care
or counseling for the employee or for the employee's parent, grandparent,
spouse, child, brother, sister, parent-in-law, grandchild, or foster child, who is a
victim of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking or who is relocating as the
result of domestic violence, sexual assault, or stalking. As used in this section,
“domestic violence," "sexual assault' and "stalking" shall have the same
meanings as in 15 V.S.A. § 1151.

5. The employee cares for a parent, grandparent, spouse, chiid, brother, sister,
parent-in-law, grandchild, or foster child, because the school or business where
that individual is normally located during the employee's workday is closed for
public health or safety reasons.

EXEMPT _EMPLOYEES: Exempt Employees employed in classifications with leave
plans should refer to the applicable plans.
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RESPONSIBILITIES

All employees shall:

1. Give their supervisors advance notice of absence if employees have advance
knowledge of requiredtreatment.

2. Notify their supervisors no later than the first hour of the beginning of the
scheduled workday, if possible, of their inability to report to work, and the reason
for the absence

3. Obtain a physician's certificate if requested by supervisors.

The appointing authority {or designee) shall:

1. Advise new employees of the sick leave provisions of this policy and the
collective bargaining agreements, if applicable.

2. In the instance of exiended illness, keep informed as to employees' physical
condition and anticipated date of return to work.

3. Ensure that sick leave is not misused, and if necessary, require submission of
evidence as to the necessity for the leave.

4. Ensure that the provisions of the sick leave article of the collective bargaining
agreements, if applicable, are observed in their agency or department.

5. Report the use of sick leave on payroll time reports.

MISCELLANEOUS

Classified employees and Exempt employees whose positions are covered by a leave
plan on authorized sick leave before and/or after a legal or administrative holiday shall
not be charged sick leave for absence on a day observed as a legal or administrative
holiday.

A classified employee awarded weekly compensation under the provisions of the
Workers' Compensation Act may be granted the use of sick leave (or annual leave
when sick leave is exhausted) for the difference between such compensation and the
employee's regular rate of pay.

Classified employees and Exempt employees whose positions are covered by a leave
plan who take a leave of absence to serve in the armed forces of the United States shall
receive credit for time served for the purposes of determining the rate of sick leave
accrual, but shall not accrue sick leave while on such leave. Employees must have
been honorably discharged and apply for return to their position with the State within
ninety (90) days before or after termination from active duty or training in order to
receive credit for such time in computing total years of full-time employment for the
purposes of determining the rate of sick leave accrual.
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SICK LEAVE BANK

Classified employees who are covered by a collective bargaining agreement may
qualify to participate in the sick teave bank associated with their respective bargaining
unit. See the current collective bargaining agreements for more information. Classified
employees who are not members of a collective bargaining unit may qualify to
participate in a separate sick leave bank. See the Department of Human Resources’
website for more information. '

Approved:

U LV T D‘”Z?fi{o
Trey Nrrtin Date
Secretary of Administration
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