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PURPOSE AND POLICY STATEMENT

The purpose of this policy is to describe procedures for the administration of the State

employees' life insurance program. The State of Vermont offers an optional group term
life insurance plan to its employees. The State will pay 75% of the premium cost of the
insurance and the employee will pay the remaining 25%.

ELIGIBILITY

Newly hired State employees who work at least fifteen (15) hours weekly, and who have
completed thirty (30) days of continuous service are eligible to enroll in the life
insurance plan during the first sixty (60) calendar days of employment.

Temporary and contractual employees are not eligible for the group life insurance plan.
Dependents of employees are also not eligible to participate in the plan.

ENROLLMENT

To enroll, an employee must obtain a Request for Payroll Deduction form from the
agency/department personnel officer, complete and return it to the personnel officer
within the time frames provided. The personnel officer will forward the form to the
Payroll Department for processing. Employees may enroll in the life insurance plan only
during the first sixty (60) days of employment, or thereafter must provide evidence of
insurability.

Once enrolled, coverage will begin on day thirty-one (31) of the employee's
employment, or the date the employee enrolls, from day thirty-two (32) through day sixty
(60), whichever comes first. Coverage will begin on the day the employee enrolls if this
takes place between the thirty-first (31) and sixtieth (60) day of employment. Employees
who do not enroll during the first sixty (60) days of employment must complete a Health
Statement (which can be obtained from the Payroll Office) in addition to the Request for
Payroll Deduction form. Coverage will be approved or denied by the insurance company
based on its review of the medical evidence.



COVERAGE

The amount of life insurance of an insured employee whose annual salary is $10,000 or
less will be $20,000.

The amount of life insurance for any employee whose annual salary is over $10,000 will
be an amount equal to two (2) times the employee's current annual base salary
(calculated to the nearest $100 below the employee's annual base salary times two).
The life insurance benefit will automatically change as the employee's earnings change.

The first $50,000 of life insurance is a tax-exempt benefit, under IRS rules. Life
insurance amounts over $50,000 are required to be reported as taxable income by the
IRS. The taxable effect to employees is minimal as premiums are low.. Amounts are
reported on the employee's year-end W-2 forms.

Under the terms and conditions of the life insurance plan, in certain instances in which
the employee's accidental death results from bodily injury, accidental death and
dismemberment benefits will be paid to the employee's beneficiary in an amount equal
to the amount of life insurance in force. This benefit is in addition to the life insurance
benefit. Some benefits may be payable to the employee for loss of limb or eyesight.

The amount of life insurance for any employee covered by the Agreements between the
State of Vermont and the Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc., who retires in
accordance with the terms of 3 VSA 631 (a)(2), shall be reduced and limited to $5,000
on the date of retirement or as otherwise determined by the Legislature (if vested on the
date of retirement).



