
Number 11.2 - OVERTIME/COMPENSATORY TIME 

Effective Date: March 1, 1996  

Supersedes Agency of Administration Bulletin 41.25, dated February 3, 1971  

Applicable To: All classified employees, as well as exempt and temporary, with the 
Executive Branch of the State of Vermont.  

Issued By: Department of Personnel  

Approved By: William H. Sorrell, Secretary of Administration  

PURPOSE AND POLICY STATEMENT  

Consistent with efficient and sound management of State government, overtime work 
for all employees will be held to a minimum. The appointing authority will ensure that 
supervisors schedule and assign regular work so that it minimizes the need for overtime 
work. This policy provides agencies and departments with the necessary guidelines for 
the implementation and administration of overtime and compensatory time performed by 
employees of the State of Vermont.  

DEFINITIONS   

ACCRUAL YEAR - The first full semi-monthly pay period beginning April 6, through the 
last full semi-monthly pay period ending April 5.  

COMPENSATORY TIME - time off substituted for the receipt of cash for overtime 
worked at the applicable rate.  

HOURS WORKED - includes all time an employee must be on duty, on the employer's 
premises, or at any other prescribed place of work.  

NORMAL WORKING HOURS - the hours between the beginning and ending of an 
employee's regularly scheduled shift.  

OVERTIME - the hours actually worked by an employee in excess of the standard 
established either by law or by the Agreements between the State of Vermont and the 
Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc.  

WORKDAY - a regularly scheduled day of work which begins at the time the employee's 
regular and normal work schedule begins and continues for twenty-four consecutive 
hours.  

WORKWEEK - a period of 168 hours during 7 consecutive 24-hour periods, beginning 
at 12:01 a.m. Sunday, and ending at 12:00 midnight, Saturday.  



GENERAL PROCEDURES  

The Overtime and Observance of Holidays Articles of the current Agreements between 
the State of Vermont and the Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc. contain 
sections relating to the application of overtime and must be adhered to, where 
applicable.  

Overtime work for all employees should be held to a minimum consistent with efficient 
and sound management of State government.  

Each appointing authority (or designee) shall schedule and assign regular work in a 
manner which will minimize the need for overtime work, and shall require compliance 
with reasonable standards of performance before requiring employees to work overtime.  

It is understood and agreed that determining the needs for overtime work, scheduling 
the hours overtime shall be worked, and requiring overtime work are exclusively 
employer's rights.  

DISTRIBUTION AND AUTHORIZATION OF OVERTIME  

Appointing authorities shall make a reasonable effort to distribute overtime as equitably 
as possible among classified employees, and shall not change or alter the regular 
workweek of an employee (once posted where applicable) for the purpose of avoiding 
the payment of overtime or shift differential. Persistent schedule changes in individual 
employees are discouraged and will be subject for Labor-Management Committee 
discussion.  

Overtime shall be assigned whenever practicable to volunteers. Assignment of overtime 
work to volunteers shall not be considered contrary to the concept of equitable 
distribution of overtime.  

With written request and twenty-four (24) hours' notice, an employee shall be excluded 
from further consideration for overtime. Such request may be canceled by the employee 
and may also be revoked by a supervisor under emergency circumstances, unless a 
medical exemption has been granted. An employee with a medical exemption may not 
volunteer for overtime without medical clearance. The employer may exercise its 
discretion to offer overtime opportunities to employees whose availability for overtime is 
self-limited to specific times or days. Such accommodation shall not itself be grievable 
by other employees.  

It is agreed that except in emergency or crisis situations, employees who are on annual 
leave, personal leave, or compensatory time off shall be the last to be required to work 
overtime.  

If classified employees are scheduled for overtime work or are unavailable for overtime 
work, non-classified employees may be authorized to work overtime.  



Employees shall be given two (2) weeks' notice of scheduled overtime. However, in 
emergency situations, the employer shall give the maximum notice practical under the 
circumstances.  

When it becomes necessary to continue work on a particular project on an overtime 
basis, the employee required to perform such overtime work will normally be the one 
who has been working on the same project during his or her regular work hours.  

Institutions and other work units which routinely distribute overtime shall do so on a 
rotational basis, in a fair and equitable manner for both voluntary and involuntary 
distribution of overtime within each such unit.  

Temporary adjustments in working hours or realignment of duties within the department 
should be considered as alternatives to the use of overtime.  

Employees may not authorize their own overtime without permission from management.  

OVERTIME COMPENSATION  

I. FOR CLASSIFIED EMPLOYEES:  

Classified employees will be compensated for all hours worked in excess of the normal 
working hours according to their assigned overtime category. Employees who are 
entitled to receive either cash or compensatory time for overtime worked will be paid in 
cash unless compensatory time is specifically requested.  

The appointing authority shall ensure that all overtime earned and used is recorded on 
the employee's time sheet as it occurs.  

The following hours are to be considered as time actually worked for purposes of 
determining eligibility for overtime compensation:  

�  hours actually worked  
�  hours on annual leave  
�  compensatory time off  
�  hours on personal leave  
�  unworked paid holidays  
�  paid VSEA time  
�  court and jury duty  
�  time spent traveling to and from training  

The following hours are not considered as time actually worked for purposes of 
computing overtime, included but not limited to:  

�  meal time  
�  normal commuting time  



�  hours on paid sick leave  
�  hours on Workers' Compensation  
�  military leave  
�  civic duty leave  
�  fire and rescue duty  
�  educational leave with pay  
�  administrative leave  
�  temporary relief from duty  
�  time off payroll  

II. FOR TEMPORARY EMPLOYEES:  

Temporary employees are paid only for time actually worked. If temporary employees 
are required to work overtime, they will receive cash at time and one-half for any hours 
worked over eight (8) in a day, or forty (40) in a week, unless otherwise authorized 
under Policy Number 12.7, Compensation for Temporary Employees.  

Temporary employees are not eligible to earn compensatory time for overtime worked.  

III. FOR EXEMPT EMPLOYEES:  

Overtime pay for exempt employees may vary depending on their agreed upon 
conditions of employment, which should be established at the time of hire. The 
agency/department personnel office should be consulted for questions regarding their 
exempt employees.  

EARNING COMPENSATORY TIME  

The Overtime and Observance of Holidays Articles of the current Agreements between 
the State of Vermont and the Vermont State Employees' Association, Inc. contain 
sections relating to Compensatory Time and must be adhered to, where applicable.  

An employee who is entitled to be paid cash for approved overtime may instead request 
compensatory time off at the applicable rate. If compensatory time is not requested at 
the time the overtime is approved, the employee will be paid in cash.  

USING COMPENSATORY TIME  

Employees wishing to use compensatory time must make a request in advance to their 
supervisor. Management may grant or deny an employee's request, pursuant to the 
operating needs of the department. If the request for use of compensatory time is 
granted, management will make every effort to schedule the time off within a reasonable 
time period. Management should encourage employees to use their compensatory time 
as they earn it.  



When an employee separates from State service, (s)he will be paid in cash in a lump 
sum with the final paycheck at the employee's then base rate of pay, for any unused 
compensatory time balance.  

Unused compensatory time off that was earned by an employee during accrual year "A" 
may be carried over until the end of accrual year "B", but not beyond that. Except in the 
instance of overtime category 18, when the employee, through no fault of his or her 
own, is unable to use up accrual year "A" compensatory time prior to the end of accrual 
year "B", (s)he will be paid in cash at the base hourly rate then prevailing.  


